Prayer and Worship

Prayer and worship are central aspects of Bahá’í life, both as individuals and as a community. The Bahá’í Writings state that prayer, in its highest form, is an expression of love and gratitude for one’s Creator. Prayer can be likened to food for the soul and is a means of attracting divine assistance and blessings. Prayer is not limited to words, but is a state of being that, ultimately, finds expression in our deeds.

In diverse settings, Bahá’ís gather with their friends and neighbours to pray and reflect upon the Bahá’í Sacred Texts. These simple gatherings generate a spirit of collective worship that inspire acts of service and increase the spiritual character of neighbourhoods and communities.

Service to Humanity

Service is integral to both individual and collective life. We are each called
upon to be an active participant of social progress. Through our
actions and deeds, and in our work and service to our communities, we strive
to contribute to the betterment of society and to develop our intellectual
and spiritual capacities.

Service in the Bahá’í community finds expression in the mutual support
that we provide one another, as well as in the accompaniment provided
by the community and institutional bodies to each individual.

Education and Capacity Building

The Bahá’í belief in the inherent nobility of each human being is intimately connected with the conviction that education, both material and spiritual, has the power to manifest the potential nobility within each person and, most importantly, benefit society. Over the past few decades, the worldwide Bahá’í community has developed an educational programme that seeks to cultivate the vast and powerful potentialities inherent in every human being. Guided by the principle and goal of universal participation, this educational programme combines personal reflection and group study with acts of service in the community.

Those who participate in this educational programme encompass diverse ages, faiths, worldviews and backgrounds. It is through collaboration with people of all perspectives that greater insights into the teachings of Bahá’u’lláh emerge, furthering the realisation of the oneness of humanity. All are warmly invited to contribute to this process.

Learn More

Children

Bahá’ís regard children as the most precious treasure a community can possess. In them are the promise and guarantee of the future. The fulfilment of this promise is dependent on the type of education that is imparted to our children. In addition to the pursuit of academic knowledge, the Bahá’í community places great emphasis on the spiritual nourishment of children, focusing on the development of spiritual qualities, such as truthfulness, generosity and kindness.

In localities throughout Switzerland, classes are offered to tend to the moral and spiritual development of children between the ages of 5 and 11 years. These classes include short lessons that make use of stories, games, music and the arts to explore the meaning, significance and practice of spiritual qualities.

Young People

Young people play an important role in our society. Although sometimes depicted as problematic, the Bahá’í community sees within them altruism, a keen sense of justice, eagerness to learn and a desire to contribute to a better world. Throughout Switzerland, young members of the Bahá’í community, together with their friends, participate in neighbourhood groups that focus on developing mental and spiritual capacities, fostering the desire for service, and assisting them to navigate through this crucial period of life. Through a participatory mode of learning, these young participants come to see themselves as agents of positive change in the world.

Adults

Together with friends and neighbours, Bahá’ís gather in homes and other informal settings to study and reflect upon the Bahá’í teachings pertaining to individual and societal progress. Through the study of a sequence of courses, spiritual insights are gained and practical skills and capacities developed that place service at the heart of our lives.

Participants of the educational and community building process are naturally inspired to translate insights gained into endeavours that contribute to the material and social wellbeing of their communities. In various settings and at all levels of society, Bahá’ís are working shoulder to shoulder with diverse groups to contribute in the areas of social action and public discourse.

Prière et adoration

La prière et l’adoration sont des aspects essentiels de la vie baha’ie, tant au niveau individuel que collectif. Les écrits baha’is affirment que la prière, dans sa forme la plus élevée, est une expression d’amour et de gratitude envers le Créateur. La prière peut être comparée à de la nourriture pour l’âme et est un moyen d’attirer l’assistance et les bénédictions divines. La prière ne se limite pas à des mots, mais est une manière d’être qui, finalement, se traduit dans nos actes.

Les baha’is se réunissent avec leurs amis et leurs voisins dans divers lieux pour prier et réfléchir aux textes sacrés baha’is. Ces rencontres toutes simples génèrent un esprit de dévotion collective qui inspire des actes de service et augmente le caractère spirituel des voisinages et des communautés.

Service à l’humanité

Le service fait partie intégrante de la vie individuelle et collective. Chacun de nous est appelé à être un participant actif du progrès social. A travers nos actes et nos activités, dans notre lieu de travail et dans notre communauté, nous nous efforçons de contribuer à l’amélioration de la société et à développer nos capacités intellectuelles et spirituelles.

Le service dans la communauté baha’ie s’exprime sous forme d’aide mutuelle et de l’accompagnement offert à chacun par la communauté et par les institutions.

Education et développement des capacités

La croyance baha’ie en la noblesse inhérente à chaque être humain est intimement liée à la conviction que l’éducation, aussi bien matérielle que spirituelle, a le pouvoir de manifester la noblesse potentielle en chaque personne et, ce qui est de grande importance, d’en faire bénéficier la société. Pendant les dernières décennies, la communauté baha’ie du monde entier a développé un programme éducatif qui cherche à cultiver les vastes et forts potentiels inhérents à chaque être humain. Guidé par le principe et le but qu’est la participation universelle, ce programme éducatif lie la réflexion personnelle et l’étude en groupe à des actes de service dans la communauté.

Ceux qui participent à ce programme éducatif sont de tous âges, de tous horizons religieux et philosophiques et de tous les milieux. C’est grâce à cette collaboration avec des gens aux perspectives les plus diverses qu’émerge une meilleure compréhension des écrits de Baha’u’llah faisant avancer la réalisation de l’unité de l’humanité. Tous sont cordialement invités à contribuer à ce processus.

Plus

Enfants

Les baha’is considèrent les enfants comme le trésor le plus précieux qu’une communauté puisse avoir. C’est en eux que se trouvent la promesse et la garantie de l’avenir. La réalisation de cette promesse dépend du type d’éducation qui est offerte à nos enfants. Outre les connaissances académiques, la communauté baha’ie insiste beaucoup sur la nourriture spirituelle des enfants et se concentre sur le développement des qualités spirituelles telles que la sincérité, la générosité et la gentillesse.

Dans de nombreuses localités à travers la Suisse, des cours sont offerts pour prendre soin du développement moral et spirituel des enfants de 5 à 11 ans. De courtes leçons, des histoires, des jeux, de la musique et des dessins composent ces classes et sont des moyens pour explorer la signification, l’importance et la mise en pratique des qualités spirituelles.

Jeunes

Les jeunes jouent un rôle important dans notre société. Bien qu’ils soient parfois dépeints comme étant problématiques, la communauté baha’ie voit en eux leur altruisme, un sens aigu de la justice, une grande soif d’apprendre et le désir de contribuer à un monde meilleur. Dans toute la Suisse, les jeunes membres de la communauté baha’ie participent, avec leurs amis, à des groupes de quartiers qui ont pour but de développer leurs capacités mentales et spirituelles, encourageant leur désir de servir et les aidant à traverser cette période cruciale de leur vie. Grâce à un mode d’apprentissage participatif, ces jeunes se voient eux-mêmes comme des agents positifs du changement dans ce monde.

Adultes

Avec leurs amis et leurs voisins, les baha’is se réunissent chez eux ou dans d’autres lieux informels pour étudier et réfléchir aux enseignements baha’is se rapportant au progrès individuel et sociétal. Grâce à des cours, ils acquièrent une meilleure compréhension spirituelle et développent des compétences pratiques et des capacités qui les aident à mettre le service au coeur de leur vie.

Les participants à ce processus éducatif et à la construction communautaire sont naturellement inspirés à traduire leur compréhension dans des efforts qui contribuent au bien-être matériel et social de leurs communautés dans divers lieux et à tous les niveaux de la société. Les baha’is travaillent coude à coude avec différents groupes qui contribuent aux domaines de l’action sociale et du discours public.